Using a microscope

This Section Is For Advanced Hobbyists Discussing new original cutting edge Experimental and Trial Treatments and Surgical Techniques, here we take koi health and pond keeping to the next level

Moderators: B.Scott, vippymini, Gazza, Manky Sanke

DaveB
Tiger Shark
Tiger Shark

Using a microscope

Post by DaveB »

hello everyone. I have been using a microscope for quite a few years and in all that time I have never come across either chilodonella or costia. I have even tried a gill biopsy nothing.Is this possible, can I be so lucky and never had either of these parasites. In the past I have managed to find white spot, gill and skin flukes and tricodina. All easy enough at 100x magnification.I must admit I have a problem focusing at 400x I don,t know wether I am doing something wrong or could it just be my eyesight failing me. I was wondering if I could see these smaller critters at 200x as the light seems to be much better at that magnification. Any tips would be appreciated
greg
Hammer Head shark
Hammer Head shark

Re: Using a microscope

Post by greg »

Dave,

That is pretty much what I do.

I systematically check the slides in x100 - all the edges first then horizontally check in a overlapping fashion the whole slide. Close the Microscope down to x200 and then repeat. The movement is usually enough to then prompt me to go to x400 to confirm.

Costia - your looking for "jumping beans" for want of a better expression. Or Very active comma type shapes usually in the water rivulets of the mucus.

Chilodonella - never had this myself of at least never found it. But i understand it move tumbling in its movement and larger than costia.

Good news is while they are fairly dangerous. So easy to treat one pass of PP will take care of costia and one pass of MG&F will take care of Chilodonella.

I tend not to even bother looking for costis if i find Trichondina - same treatment!

Same with Chilodonella if i find Whitespot - same treatment!
DaveB