Moderators: B.Scott, vippymini, Gazza, Manky Sanke

koisupreme
Sandbar shark
Sandbar shark

help with filter mod

Post by koisupreme »

hi all
im a newbie to this great site
i am interesed in to converting my filters to static k1 and fulid k1. i was thinking of leaving the vortex in place then making three chambers in filter instead of the five that the filters have now so each filter chamber would be the size of the last chamber with jap matting in.i am thinking of vortex then static k1 the fluid k1 the jap matting in last chamber.does this sound a good idea as my water is clear at the moment but with fine particles floating in pond so hopefuly this would solve that problem
my pond is 10ft x 8ft x6ft deep which gives me 2000gal
i will post pictures of pond tomorrow

ageinghippy
Hammer Head shark
Hammer Head shark

Re: help with filter mod

Post by ageinghippy »

Hi there,

First of all, welcome to the site, I think you`ll find that there is an absolute wealth of knowledge available here.

Regarding your filters, I think you`re on the right track with what you are thinking about, but can I suggest a couple of modfications to your plans?

To have a proper vortex action, the chamber needs to be a minimum of two feet wide and at least three feet deep, and ideally twice as much. Anything less is not really doing an awful lot of good as there just isn`t enough room for all the solids to settle out.

I would suggest that you put your brushes in the vortex to remove the larger solids, then the first chamber have as fluidised k1, second chamber have the static k1, and have your japmat cartidge in the third chamber.

The fluidised chamber will remove anything that gets past your brushes, the static will collect the majority of the `fines`, and then the japmat will give your water its final polish before it returns to your pond.

I hope that helps, and doesn`t put you off your mods. :)