Anoxic Filtration with biocenosis baskets

Post all Pond construction Topics here including DIY bits and pieces

Moderators: B.Scott, vippymini, Gazza, Manky Sanke

ajb
Lemon Shark
Lemon Shark

Anoxic Filtration with biocenosis baskets

Post by ajb »

I read a 2 part article on anoxic filtration in koi carp magazine recently and found the priciples, simplicity and advantages compelling.

I am new to the hobby and have been reading various texts and this forum, and have not come across much other information on anoxic filtration and using biocenosis baskets. Most of the filtration information I've seen is about having oxygen rich biological filtration.

I am interested in your thoughts on and experiences with anoxic filtration. So, a few questions:

Does anyone employ anoxic filtration with biocenosis baskets? If so, how have you found it?

If you don't use it, have you chosen not to, and what reasons have stopped you?

Regards

Adam
colin
Nurse Shark
Nurse Shark

Re: Anoxic Filtration with biocenosis baskets

Post by colin »

Hi Adam,

I'm surprsed nobody has answered to your post. I have read up on Anoxic Filtration myself and like you found it rather interesting. I don't have anything to add on the subject myself, but when the day comes when I build my own main pond it will be filtered by the way Dr Novak describes and am looking forward to it.
Have you tried this site for info? http://www.essexsection.co.uk/index.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; ( MUCH THANKS TO DR NOVAK AND THE OWNER OF THE SITE! ) might be info you have read in the magazine as I think the author of the article is the same chap whose website the link goes to, Manky Sanke?

Let us know how you get on..

Colin :)
eds
Great White Shark
Great White Shark

Post by eds »

I don't think anyone replied as I don't think anyone's using it! From what I see just a couple of people are trying it out at the moment.