Post all Pond construction Topics here including DIY bits and pieces

Moderators: B.Scott, vippymini, Gazza, Manky Sanke

stuboy00
Lemon Shark
Lemon Shark

Major pond re-build

Post by stuboy00 »

hi people
i have decided to bite the koi bullit and rebuild my pond at the mo it is a 4400gal quarter circle shaped pond, keeping the same shape but making it roughly 2m deep, fitting 3 1m x 1m windows on the front but insted of using block i am using 150mm kingspan board for the base and walls supported with 4no stainless steel retaining bands on the outside so it wont blow out, i wont be using fiberglass either i am a roofer to trade an we work with a material called sarna it is best described as a rubberised torch on felt and no its not going to kill the fish we did my bosses pond with it, filtration will be the 2 50gal drums 1 fluid k1 1static k1 which i am using currently will be adding another 4 50gal barrels with assorted media and jap mat, pump wise i have a sequence 11000 and trying to get my hands on a yamitsu argonaught 3600gal prob run the sequence on a skimmer?

well thanks for reading this and please any ideas and advice you can give i would be very appreciative also i will post some pics of the original pond as is and i will take step by step pics of all work carried out i hope the total build time will be no more than 3 weeks

many thanks

stu
TerryKoi
Tiger Shark
Tiger Shark

Re: Major pond re-build

Post by TerryKoi »

look forward to some photo's Stu.
easylife
Nurse Shark
Nurse Shark

Post by easylife »

Stu,
Thats a different method of construction, and will be interesting to see what the cost is compared to the more usual methods of construction
Good luck with the build and keep us up to date with plenty of pics
Alan
stuboy00
Lemon Shark
Lemon Shark

Post by stuboy00 »

hi alan