Post all Pond construction Topics here including DIY bits and pieces

Moderators: B.Scott, vippymini, Gazza, Manky Sanke

Koifaber
Sandbar shark
Sandbar shark

Pressure filters, k1 and pre filter?

Post by Koifaber »

Hi everyone
I'm very new to keeping koi and would like some advice . I have a 2000 gallon pond that is pump fed to 2 pressure filters( I know big mistake) they are both 30000 ltr ones tho.i went down this route so I could send the water to the waterfall. I have had the pond since sept and have about 20 koi from 6 inches to 22 inches. I have had the cycle and now he ammonia is zero and nirite is zero, so not to bad so far :-) What I what to know is there something I can put before the pressure filters to take out the biggest muck so I don't have to clean the pressure filter sponges quite so often. Also I want to get a 3rd pressure filter and fill it with k1 media so I have much more room for feeding well later on. I hope this makes sense to someone, any advice would be really appreciated
Manky Sanke
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Pressure filters, k1 and pre filter?

Post by Manky Sanke »

You will always struggle with pump fed pressure filters due to the difficulty of removing fines from the water before it gets to the sponges or cleaning them if you don't.

There are koi keepers who are happy with pump fed filters but I don't know of any who have pump fed pressure filters. If there are, perhaps they could help - anyone?

If you don't want to replace the filters, which I suspect are new, or fit something expensive before them, possibly the simplest thing you could use is filter floss/wool like the one on the link below. You could lay it on top of the foam and rinse it under tap for as long as that is practical or simply throw it away.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/5M-Pond-Filte ... 20c6920d04
Markey
Lemon Shark
Lemon Shark

Post by Markey »

I have to say,, i have not known anyone to live with pressure filters for long.