k1

Post all Pond construction Topics here including DIY bits and pieces

Moderators: B.Scott, vippymini, Gazza, Manky Sanke

sam51
Nurse Shark
Nurse Shark

k1

Post by sam51 »

hi all do you all believe the hype about how good this filter media is.
what has made you all use it.doesn't matter whether you brought a nexus,or converted a filter.or made your own.
was it because it is lightweight,it is easy to clean.
i have been using it for 2 years now,and not totally convinced about the amount of food the manufacturers state it can handle.
i may look at getting some other media,i would rather use a media that might be a bit more of a pain in the a.s.s to clean.but does the job.i getting a bit fed up with small persistent nitrite.
i understand that now with feeding rates on the rise,you will get a bit of nitrite,but this should be in peaks and troughs,not continually.
MikeWh
Nurse Shark
Nurse Shark

Re: k1

Post by MikeWh »

Hi Sam, how much K1 are you running?? I think mine is about 4 years ish mature now & with normal feeding if there is such a thing I don't get a reading, but 500g of prawns on top of that can lift it a bit. Not imediatly, but about two days later & if I test once on that morning & once the same evening I get a definate drop back to pretty much zeroish.
I suppose you would get that sort of thing with all sorts of media, I just have never used anything else. That said I've used it in many different ways & the way I run it at the moment seems by far the best, however that could be false & it could just be the age of it & possibly because I (touch wood) have not had to treat the pond for anything for ages....What are you thinking of changing it to??
Mike
sam51
Nurse Shark
Nurse Shark

Post by sam51 »